Wednesday, September 17, 2014

5 stages of grief...

We have been reading stories as a class and then having discussions about them. We discuss the different characters, themes, and any questions or observations that we may have. This is one of my favorite parts of the day. Some days there is more writhing around on the floor than actual conversation, but then some days they throw a little surprise treat your way. 

This week we read a story about a lion and a mouse. At the beginning of the story the lion is very rude to the mouse. Later on in the story the mouse ends up saving the Lion's life. Lion does not seem to care and simply leaves without so much as a nod to mr. mouse. 

Me: "Why doesn't Lion thank Mouse the way he should have?"

Special friend: "Lion is going through the five stages of grief! He is clearly in the first stage, which is denial. All of the signs point to this. He is stuck up and lonely. There is no telling where he will go from here. He may never get past this!"


Me: "Is it recess yet??"

No comments:

Post a Comment